• DUI

    Posted on October 21st, 2010

    Written by sslates

    Tags

    California has some of the toughest laws in the country.  If you’re charged with DUI in the state, prepare for some of the harshest punishments, even for first-time drunk driving convictions.

    A first-time DUI conviction in California can mean jail time for between 96 hours to six months, and fines of between $390 and $1,000.  Besides, you could lose your license for six months, and will be required to go through a DUI Program.  You may also be required to install an ignition interlock device in your car.  Further, you may be required to purchase California SR 22 insurance for a restricted license.

    A second DWI conviction in California, within 10 years of the first one, will mean jail time of between 90 days and one year, and fines of between $390 and $1,000.  You could lose your license for two years and must attend a court mandated DWI program.  The California SR 22 provisions for a restricted license will also apply in this case.

    In case of a third DUI conviction, jail time increases from 120 days to one year, with fines between $390 and $1,000.  You will lose your license for three years, and will be designated as a habitual offender.  You may be able to apply for a restricted license after one year.  You will need an ignition interlock device on your car, and must complete a DUI program.

    For a fourth California DUI conviction, within 10 years of the third one, you can expect a prison term of between 180 days to one year, and fines of between $390 and $1,000.  You may lose your license for four years, and can apply for a restricted license only after one year.  You must install an ignition interlock device in your car, and must complete a DUI program.

    From 2010, motorists in Tulare, Alameda, Sacramento and Los Angeles counties will have to install an ignition interlock device in their vehicles after even a first DUI conviction, as part of a pilot program that has been criticized by Los Angeles DUI defense lawyers.

    Share
    This entry was posted on Thursday, October 21st, 2010 at 12:29 pm and is filed under DUI. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.
  • 0 Comments

    Take a look at some of the responses we've had to this article.

  • Leave a Reply

    Let us know what you thought.

  • Name (required):

    Email (required):

    Website:

    Message: